The 2018 African Nova Scotian History Challenges

You Are Here:The 2018 African Nova Scotian History Challenges
The 2018 African Nova Scotian History Challenges 2017-10-04T00:42:44+00:00

General Rules

Open to all students and classes from all schools in Nova Scotia. Submissions are accepted from October 5, 2017 to February 10, 2018. You are encouraged to send your entries early.

Be sure to include your name, address, phone number, the name of your school, your grade, your teacher’s name and your teacher’s contact number.

Entries via mail only or delivered during regular business hours to:

The African Nova Scotian History Challenges
Delmore “Buddy” Daye Learning Institute
5539 Cornwallis Street
Halifax, NS
B3K 1B3

See Details & Challenges
His Honour, Brigadier-General the Honourable J. J. Grant, CMM, ONS, CD (Ret’d), Lieutenant-Governor of Nova Scotia, presented the top school prizes at the 2016 DBDLI Awards ceremony.

DBDLI Awards for Excellence in African Nova Scotian History are presented to students whose submissions to the Challenges best exemplify the contributions that African Nova Scotians have made to the history, heritage and culture of our province and our country. All Awards include cash bursaries.

DBDLI Awards will be presented solely at the discretion of the Judging Committee and the Judging Committee’s decisions will be deemed final. Judges will consider content, grade level, creativity and presentation in evaluating each submission. The Judging Committee may award one top prize and one or more runners-up prizes for each Challenge. Awards range from $50.00 to $250.00 each. Prizes will be awarded by category: High School (Grades 10-12), Junior High (Grades 7-9) and Elementary (Grades P-6). Submissions post-marked or delivered after the deadline date will not be considered. Students may submit one entry to each Challenge. Teachers may submit class entries. Submissions will not be returned unless accompanied by a self-addressed, stamped envelope. Only Award winners will be contacted. A complete list of Award winners will be published on our website.